centered image

centered image

I'm A Junior Doctor In A&E. The Covid Emergencies Never Stop

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Mahmoud Abudeif, Feb 14, 2021.

1. Mahmoud Abudeif

Mahmoud Abudeif Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

There’s a red phone in the accident and emergency department I work in. It rings at a pitch and rhythm that catches the attention of those who have spent long enough working here. I have not been in the department for long; two months in A&E as part of my first two years as a doctor. As a junior doctor who’s new to the department, I’m used to missing the phone’s staccato sound.

The phone is used exclusively to tell us that an ambulance is about to arrive with someone who is very ill. In the past six weeks, it has been ringing a lot. Last week it went off and for once I heard it, so I dutifully went to the resuscitation bays. I waited with a nurse at one of the cubicles for the patient to arrive. He was soon brought in by two paramedics. His story was familiar: he’d come into the hospital three days before with a mild cough, feeling short of breath. His oxygen was low, but not low enough to be admitted. Now he was back.

[​IMG]

It’s common to see patients with Covid-19 readmitted to hospital after being sent home just days before. They are discharged with a small plastic probe that goes on their finger and tells them if their oxygen is at a dangerous level. At that point we tell them to call 111, or to come back in.

If they don’t require oxygen, they will be seen in the minors department. Here, they are placed in one of the rooms that were previously used by GPs to assess patients. Often four or five people will have to wait in these rooms, socially distanced, to ensure they are not a risk to others. Sometimes it is so busy that you have to pull a mobile screen around yourself and the patient and speak to them in a quiet voice, trying to behave as if the person has a room of their own.