centered image

I’m A Physician And I’m Not A Hero

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Mar 27, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

Upon walking through the revolving door that guards the hospital’s main entrance, I was ushered by security staff to join the queues of my peers, also seeking passage to their respective posts.

“The new policy,” the officer explained, examining my hospital ID to confirm that I am, indeed, an employee. Visitors are no longer allowed.

“Please sanitize your hands,” another instructed me, as he pointed to the neat rows of surgical masks lining the sterile white table next to him. “One per employee per day.”

The halls of the hospital were always bustling with the chatter of patients, their families and friends, and healthcare workers. But today, the silence was interrupted only by the footsteps of my fellow hospital staff scurrying off to work.

I pushed open the double doors to the emergency department, expecting to be greeted by its usual chaos; but no, even there lay a strange order. Physicians, nurses, and physician assistants – all uniformed in blue scrubs, hairnets, goggles, and facemasks – marched steadily, marking every other patient room with precaution signs. While the floors above us experienced the calm before the storm, we were seeing it on the horizon – a grandparent from a senior home, testing positive for COVID-19; a mid-thirty year old, the primary caregiver to her elderly parents, suspected to have the disease. This is only the beginning.

“Don’t touch your mask,” was my mantra that day. There were no masks to spare – none to be found in the supply bins, none in the closets. Protective equipment was a scarce commodity, one to be rationed. One per employee per day.