centered image

I’m a Surgeon and I Don’t Depend on Narcotics

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Hadeel Abdelkariem, Nov 27, 2019.

1. Hadeel Abdelkariem

Hadeel Abdelkariem Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

I recently had a conversation with a new patient who was referred for surgery.

[​IMG]

As it happens, she discussed me with people she knew before her appointment. I like patients to look me up, talk to friends, find out who I am, and come with an expectation of what they will get in my clinic. We had a normal new patient visit, and per my typical workflow, I explained the agenda: a full medical history, a discussion of the evolution of her problem, the impact on her life, a physical exam, a discussion of her options for management, and scheduling of surgery.

This often takes a full hour, and sometimes patients forget the questions that are most important to them, the things that don’t always come out in a medical history, so I leave time before we start to allow patients to tell me what is most important to them. After setting the agenda, I asked her to tell me the things she wants to get out of this visit, any fears she has, and to alert me to anything in her life that may affect her care. This is where the conversation with this particular patient got interesting.

She told me something that I have heard before, and I think it reflects a misunderstanding about my practice. It is an unfortunate side effect of standard medical practice and our culture of medicine. She told me that she was unsure she would choose to be my patient because a coworker had warned her that I do not prescribe pain medications.

This made me giggle — out loud giggle. I understood where this was coming from. She asked me to explain. Otherwise, she is not interested in my care, no matter my reputation. Here is what I told her.