centered image

centered image

I'm A Surgeon Who Operated On A Man Who Had Committed A Murder — Here's How I Control My Emotions

Discussion in 'General Surgery' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, May 28, 2018.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

I'm a surgeon who operated on a man who had just committed a horrific murder — here's how I control my emotions during surgery

Surgery can remind surgeons of their own mortality. Author not pictured.
    Dado Ruvic/Reuters
    • Surgery is often the only option for critically ill patients.
    • In his book, surgeon Paul A. Ruggieri recounts an occasion in which he was called into surgery to urgently operate on a man who had just murdered his wife.
    • Even though Ruggieri was filled with rage towards the man, once he was in the operating room it was "no different to any other surgery."
    • Surgeons are human and experience emotions like anyone else — however, they are excellent at successfully carrying out a surgery despite these conflicted feelings.

The following is an excerpt from 'Confessions of a Surgeon: The Good, the Bad, and the Complicated ... Life Behind the O.R. Doors' by Paul A. Ruggieri, M.D.:

I wanted him to die. I really did. I was hoping his heart's pumping action would just stop. I was hoping he would never make it to the operating room.

The man had just gone on a shooting rampage in the local courtroom, distraught over an ugly ongoing divorce. He had expressed his festering anger by emptying several rounds from a .38‑caliber handgun into his wife, his wife's divorce lawyer, and other colleagues during legal proceedings in the courtroom. He had only wounded his wife with the first shot to her neck. She was still breathing, gasping for life, when he calmly walked around the table. He slowly squatted next to her and placed the gun to her head. The second shot killed her instantly.