centered image

I'm An ICU Doctor Treating Coronavirus Patients. But Somehow I'm Not Angry

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Jun 11, 2020.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

As we muddle through relaxing the UK lockdown, the overwhelming public mood seems to be one of fury

[​IMG]
    ‘Today, working in an intensive care unit, I feel I live in two worlds.’

Had somebody asked me a year or so ago to imagine a pandemic, I would have predicted it to be an anxious time. But as we muddle through relaxing our lockdown, the overwhelming public mood seems to be one of anger.

People seem to be angry for all sorts of reasons. Some are angry there aren’t enough rules, or that the rules aren’t going on for long enough. Others seem angry that there are any rules at all. Public anger is not regular. It comes in waves and pile-ons, stoked by frustration, resentment and fear.

Amid this, in hospital beds across the world, lie sleeping patients with plastic tubes in their windpipes, machines breathing their breaths. In normal times, there’s usually something peaceful about an intensive care unit (ICU). The machines’ cacophony is regular, rhythmic, beating. It used to feel peculiar that a hospital’s sickest patients lay in its calmest ward.

Today, working in the ICU, I feel like I live in two worlds. There’s the world inside a respirator mask, where everything is darker, voices are muffled and facial expressions are hidden. Meanwhile, the outside world mimics the old world, only the streets are more anxious and cities play at being closed.

Amid all the public fury, I’ve surprised myself that I’ve not been angry. I imagined, if ever there was a time to hold an opinion on government policy, it would be during an international health emergency.