centered image

I’m Ready For The Change COVID-19 Will Bring

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, May 25, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

I am a graduating fourth-year medical student and new internal medicine resident — one of many newly minted physicians that will be thrown into the frontline to take care of COVID-19 patients in a little over a month. It’s a strange time to be graduating – we have spent years training to get to this point, yet celebrating is the last thing on our minds as we gear up for the war that we are told is coming.

We wake up every day to commentaries telling us in painful detail how COVID-19 is overwhelming our health care system, to stories from our colleagues about brutal working conditions and gut-wrenching choices, and to articles about health care providers dying because they did not have adequate personal protective equipment.

We are, understandably, afraid. Ready to help tackle a major public health emergency and do the job that we have been dreaming of for so long, but uncertain of what that may mean for our personal health and safety. However, I have also been struck by how the pandemic has strengthened our collective voice as health care workers –students, residents, nurses, and established physicians — and amidst the overwhelming heartbreak and chaos, I have also felt glimmers of hope.

A little under a year ago, an article about how the business of health care depends on exploiting doctors and nurses made waves in our community. It talked about an unsustainable status quo, with high levels of burnout and suicide among doctors and nurses, thousands of uncompensated hours spent finishing up spillover work, and the huge interest-bound debt we must pay off.