centered image

I’m Sorry: A Letter From A Pathology Resident On The Frontlines

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Apr 12, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

I hope that this letter finds you (and myself) alive and well after all this COVID-19 craziness ends. I never really got the chance to explain everything when I was taking care of you. It wasn’t your fault you ended up at the hospital when you did, and you deserved so much better.

First of all, I was a pathology resident. A redeployed pathology resident. Actually, redeployed isn’t the right word because I never really took care of patients to begin with. You see, my specialty involved performing diagnostic tests, which was not a very valuable skillset to have as your primary doctor. Don’t get me wrong, I was a doctor, and what I normally did was valuable. However, when my hospital asked me to take care of patients because of a physician shortage from COVID-19, I had no idea what to do. In fact, that last time I had seen a patient in a setting like yours was over two years ago when I was a medical student. When I saw you, I honestly didn’t really remember how to do a physical exam or write a clinical note. I had only a vague idea of what most of your medications even did.