centered image

In The Midst Of COVID-19, Triage Is A Four-Letter Word

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Mar 28, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

In my career as an outpatient family physician, triage is not something that I commonly do. But now, with the COVID-19 pandemic in full swing, it seems the large percentage of my day is spent in triaging patients. And I have to say, I don’t really care for it. (This is an understatement. I’m trying really hard not to use other four-letter words in describing how I truly feel.)

In my pre-pandemic world as a doctor, I welcomed all comers into my clinic. If you wanted a visit, you could have one. If you needed to come in and talk about your great sadness over the loss of a parent, if you needed me to look at that spot on your foot to find out if it was a wart or a corn or something else, if you needed a wellness visit to make sure you were up to date on all of your cancer screening and preventive care … come on down!

These visits were just as important for me, as the doctor, as they were for the patients. That face to face time, that human connection, is a big part of why I chose to practice medicine. I could give you a hug if you were sad. I could greet you with a firm handshake, and you could tell me your latest blonde joke (I happen to be blonde, and some patients do love to tease). I could joke around with my kids (that’s how I think of your children) and send them off with a high five. I could cuddle that newborn baby for a second and smell that sweet spot on the top of his head. Those are the things that made my day.