centered image

Is Money A Poor Way To Motivate Doctors ?

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Egyptian Doctor, Oct 7, 2014.

1. Egyptian Doctor

Egyptian Doctor Moderator Verified Doctor

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

As a physician, I enjoy listening to non-physicians tell me how to motivate doctors. I don’t mean this in a totally snarky way (well, maybe just a little). These conversations often highlight the chasm that exists between physicians and administration.

What’s the most common motivator people throw out there? Money. Certainly everyone wants to make more money, I don’t refute that. What I take issue with is the notion that the only way hospitals can get docs to cooperate is to offer them financial incentives. This asserts that the underlying reason we do what we do is a fat paycheck, not our patients’ well being.

If you look at Maslow’s hierarchy of needs, human motivation is stratified into five levels of a pyramid. Security of employment, resources and property reside toward the bottom of the diagram, above only one level that includes things like breathing, food water and excretion. High-level motivators like achievement, respect, morality and problem solving climb to the top of the pyramid, where I believe most physicians function (insert obvious surgeon joke here). In fact, it has been shown that after a certain level of compensation, additional financial incentives have little if any effect on performance.

And anyway, if simply dangling a financial carrot in front of a “simple-minded doctor” was enough to get them to decrease readmission rates, use laboratory and imaging tests more responsibly, and decrease length of stay, wouldn’t that have worked by now?