centered image

It’s OK To Mourn Your Wedding

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Jun 3, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

I went through the five stages of grief when we lost our wedding to COVID-19. The denial: “I’m sure this will be over by summer.” The anger: “This is so unfair! I’ve planned this for two years.” The bargaining: “We’ll just push it back to July, no need to go further. That’ll be fine, right?” The depression: *Sobs scrolling through others’ anniversary pictures on Instagram* The acceptance: “So, 2021 it is.”

As a pediatric resident, I had been largely spared the professional impacts of COVID-19. Of course, we had new policies regarding temperature and symptom screening and mask-donning. Our volumes were reduced, our schedules altered to decrease coverage to the minimum necessary, and our in-person electives changed to virtual. While I heard the stories of adult hospitals clamoring for beds and ventilators, and the onslaught of deaths they faced, COVID-19 didn’t impact me personally as a provider in that way.

It wasn’t until my gym was closed, my races were postponed, and my wedding was in extremis that COVID-19 felt real to me. That realization, that it took these personal, non-patient, non-human losses, to make me feel the impact of a global pandemic, was sobering. Here I was, a physician, and what made me really start to grasp the effect of a pandemic was the fact that our photographer wouldn’t be available on our new wedding date. My friends in New York City were wearing bandanas as masks and declaring more patients in a shift than I have in all of residency. And I was sad when I found RSVPs in our mailbox from our now-canceled wedding.