centered image

It’s Time To Stop Treating Suffering Like A Necessary Rite Of Passage

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Mar 17, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

Once, when I was a senior resident covering a busy trauma service at a county hospital, I was on call for nine days in a row while my co-chief had an uncovered vacation. It was July, and we were all — interns, junior residents, and me — new and uncertain in our roles. I left the hospital only twice in those nine days.

When I finally signed over my pager for a day off, I described to another chief resident the nine-day marathon I had just completed. His response?

“When I was the chief on that rotation, I was on call for 12 days straight.”

I’m sure it’s true. Like our more senior attendings who frequently remind us how easy we have it (and how soft we’ve become), as bad as my experience may be, someone else has worked harder, longer, and in a more stressful environment. In fact, this conversational pattern is so common amongst residents (and practicing physicians) that it can be distilled down to its essential elements:

Resident 1: I’m suffering.

Resident 2: I’ve suffered more.

This is not the camaraderie of shared experiences, but a game of one-upping: showing our worth through our ability to endure. I was on call for longer; I had worse consults; I had more demanding patients; etc., etc., etc. I was caught off guard in this instance not only because my co-resident’s response was so unsympathetic, but also because I didn’t know how to respond without falling into the same conventional pattern. My immediate responses all fell in line with the “I’ve suffered more” paradigm. I wanted to tell him why my call was worse than his; why my patients needed more; my traumas were more traumatic; my pain was worth more than his pain. All of this to prove that I was tougher, that I was somehow better because I had suffered more.