centered image

It’s Time We Stop Saying “Black Cloud” And “Black Weekend”

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Oct 13, 2020.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

Racism is a pandemic that has long existed before COVID-19.

As a fourth-year medical student, I have been rotating in the hospitals and recently finished my sub-internship. Whether on the wards or in outpatient clinics, a recurring phrase would hover from one provider to the next, depending on how busy their week was: “black cloud” and “white cloud.

In the medical world, the former has often been used to describe trainees or attendings with a high number of admissions or complex cases, while the latter has been associated with a lighter load and fewer pages. Phrases like “black weekend” versus “golden weekend” have also been tossed in conversation. When I rotated on my 3rd-year medicine clerkship, “black weekend” described a weekend where residents worked both Saturday and Sunday, while a “golden weekend” saw both days off.

[​IMG]

With the broader state of our nation today, we need to step back and critically reevaluate this terminology.

How did these colors come to represent such perceptions? People may have unconscious bias. They may not realize they are attributing negative connotations to these phrases. It is almost as if the medical system is associating “whiteness” as good, something to aspire to, and “blackness” as negative, something to avoid. Black physicians have voiced their concerns, encouraging other providers to “dissociate blackness from negative thinking.”

Communication is a cornerstone of medicine. Language and thought are closely interconnected, reflecting each other. Just as words open a door to our thinking, so, too, do our thoughts influence what we speak. And how we speak with our colleagues, how we speak about our patients, and how we speak about ourselves – all of that matters.