centered image

I’ve Seen Over 8,000 Medical Professionals. Here’s What I’ve Learned.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, May 2, 2017.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

[​IMG]

Today, I am a 40-year old with type 2 diabetes. I have been on glyburide since I was diagnosed four years ago and am otherwise healthy, although my blood pressure today is 140/96. I don’t check my glucose levels at home because I don’t have a monitor. Typically, I avoid sweets, but my diet is high in natural sugars, carbohydrates and starches. The only exercise I get is walking around on the floor of my retail sales job. My diabetic mother died of kidney failure, and I don’t want that to happen to me, which is why I’m seeing my doctor today.

Today, I am Lucy. Tomorrow, I will be someone else.

In real life, I’m a professional standardized patient (SP). For over a decade, I have played hundreds of characters in order to help train thousands of doctors. At last count, I estimate that I have been seen by well over 8,000 students, interns, residents, fellows and other medical professionals. Today, as Lucy, I will add another five doctors to this list.

Being an SP has taught me many things about doctors, medicine, and patient care. The best doctors are those that excel in both medical knowledge and patient communication. Sadly, from my experience, only a small minority of medical practitioners are excellent communicators. Most are OK, but some are downright terrible. Nevertheless, I have seen even the worst of these communicators make progress in this arena and, like thousands of other SPs, I take pride that the training we provide allows them to improve in a safe environment where mistakes are seen as learning opportunities and not failures.