centered image

centered image

knee issues

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by Inspirer, Jun 27, 2020.

1. Inspirer

Inspirer Young Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Portugal

I'm not a doctor, but I consider a health-conscious and like to learn more health.

As so, I feel somewhat embarassed to pose my query, but for my own sake, I will.

I've been a jogger for almost 8 years, and for the first 6 years I never sustained any injuries.

I got injured the first time about 18 months, and even my Achilles tendon took about 6 months to heal, it wasn't such a big deal.

However, my last injury, which happened last month was more serious.

I had already run 10km several times, including 3 days before (in the previous week I ran twice that distance), but on that day I felt I should have stopped by the 4th lap (or just after I had completed 6km), but because I shed a few kilos, I strained to run another laps.

But as I finally finished my run, I felt complete lack of stability in both legs.

For 5 days, I couldn't even straighten my legs, and on the 6th day, my knees were still in pain, athough I could already straighten my legs for brief moments.

On the 7th day, I was finally feeling better, and almost recovered.

I spoke of this to someone who said that this was just exhaustion and not serious.

In the following I thought I was already alright, and resuming running, initially only 6km, and I had not problems.

However, in the following week, I attempted again to run, not 10km, but 8km. and I again my knee became sore.

I can straighten my legs, but feel weekness and pain from the knees down.

I now intend to take much better care of myself.

So, I would like what type of injury might I sustained.

And am I still expected to make a full reccovery?

Also, could this bring issues in the future?

By the way, I'm 49 years of age and female.

I thank you very much in advance for your attention

Add Reply

2. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member