centered image

Long Shifts Are OK For New Doctors, But We Still Need Better Handoffs

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by dr.omarislam, Sep 8, 2017.

1. dr.omarislam

dr.omarislam Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

[​IMG]
    As I rode my bike home the morning after finishing my first 28-hour shift at the hospital where I had just started as an intern, I made a confident turn onto a one-way street. But I was going the wrong way, smack into the path of a car heading in the right direction. Luckily, everyone was fine:  The driver honked, I swerved, then made it home and fell asleep. When I woke up that evening, I was shaken by the certainty with which I had biked directly into oncoming traffic. What other unsafe things could I have done after being awake for more than a day?

As a resident in a family medicine program, during parts of the year I spend every fourth day working a 28-hour shift. My friends training to be surgeons have it even harder, routinely working 24 hours on, then 24 hours off. Our work week is capped at 80 hours.

Working long hours has become the norm in my life, but my friends outside of medicine are shocked when they hear about my schedule. How can I possibly make safe medical decisions while sleepy, they ask. Or they say, “I wouldn’t want a doctor taking care of me who’s been awake for that long.”

But to many in earlier generations of doctors, my hours are cushy.

The work schedule of medical residents and interns (first-year residents) is the subject of a fierce debate in academic medicine. Some say that making medical decisions after being awake for long periods is not good for patients or their doctors. Others argue that long shifts help interns and residents become better doctors by understanding the course of patients’ illnesses. At the center of this issue is a question for which we have surprisingly little data: What is best for our patients?