centered image

Maternity Leave In A Post-COVID World

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Jun 10, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

I am a female surgical resident. I signed up for this. I chose four years of medical school, five years of residency, two years of research, a year of fellowship, and finally attending surgeon life. I’d choose it again.

And I want this road to be hard. I want my training so tough that I don’t wonder while a patient’s on the table if I’m good enough. I want to know it.

To make us resilient, strong, capable surgeons, the American Board of Surgeons (ABS) and the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) instituted rigorous requirements dictating the number and specific varieties of surgeries we must perform, hours we must work, and limitations on our non-clinical time. We’re told these are essential to become a good surgeon. Female residents know these requirements will place more pressure on us than our male counterparts, but one thought prevails: I want to be a damn good surgeon. So we rise up and meet them.

And yet.

The coronavirus pandemic has done more than shatter our economy and kill tens of thousands of Americans. The ingredients we were previously told make a good surgeon are disappearing as resources are redeployed to fight this virus. Non-emergent cases are canceled. Efforts to distance residents from one another and to safeguard the workforce mandate we minimize who comes into the hospital each day. Teaching conferences on Zoom stand in for hands-on patient care.

The ABS and ACGME recognize that these training opportunities are disappearing. Rather than insisting we all continue to meet prior requirements, they’ve relaxed them. Instead of 48 clinical weeks, 44 will do. A 10% reduction in case volume will be accepted, no questions asked. Apparently, we’ll still be good surgeons.

Huh.