centered image

Maybe Being A Physician Was Just Not Enough

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Mahmoud Abudeif, Nov 12, 2019.

1. Mahmoud Abudeif

Mahmoud Abudeif Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

Do you ever see other people in their careers and think to yourself, “Maybe I could do that?”

[​IMG]
    I am a board-certified pediatric physician with over 25 years of experience in private practice, and I recently decided to try my hand at acting.

Much to my surprise, I was awful. It was almost as if there were basic premises of the craft that I did not understand at all. But I suppose that should not have surprised me since I have no training or experience as an actor. I also noticed that when I tried to give other people advice about being an actor, they just laughed at me. So maybe I was wrong. After all, I’m a physician, not an actor.

Then I thought maybe I could be a politician or a talk show host since I do have some experience in those fields: I took a semester of poly sci in college, and over the course of my lifetime, I’ve watched a lot of TV. And not to brag, but I’m also quite good at talking. But to my surprise, I had no success with those roles either. It was almost as if, despite my experience, there was some basic foundation of knowledge and skill in those areas that I was lacking. And sure enough, when I tried to advise others on how they should perform their duties in those fields, I was disregarded yet again. Maybe being a physician was just not enough.

And then it hit me.