centered image

Medical School In The Age Of Zoom

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Oct 18, 2020.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

What has medical school been like in the age of Zoom? Before I was a student doctor, I was an undergraduate student pining after the halls of medicine and the truthfully looking forwards to the rigors of medical school. Upon acceptance to medical school at the University of California, San Diego, I celebrated via Zoom with family. Orientation week was a hybrid model of Zoom and on-campus socially distanced activities. Our white coat ceremony was also held through Zoom, which was quite painful for a few of us but ultimately necessary to comply with the public health guidelines. What I did not foresee was how much my peers and I would experience Zoom fatigue.

Zoom fatigue started creeping in around the second week of my medical school education. I noticed that I had been subconsciously relying on the atmosphere of a traditional classroom to remain engaged in my learning. Zooming at home, I am distracted by the comfort within reach, the ease of access to food, and the noises of other media in the background. Tiktok. I have never hated an app so much until the present moment for the ease of entertainment it affords and how I gravitate towards it when I feel disengaged during a Zoom lecture. I overcame this during my third week by simply deleting the app and willfully engaging in my online lectures and pre-recorded lectures. Nevertheless, the other symptoms (if I may use this word) of Zoom fatigue persisted. These included emotional withdrawal, lack of focus, and even eye strain from looking at a computer screen for around 6 to 8 hours per weekday.

[​IMG]

Sensory deprivation and the hybrid model