centered image

Medical Students Have The Responsibility To Correct Racial Inequities

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Jun 17, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

Before I walked hospital hallways as a medical student, I walked high school hallways as a science teacher in Houston’s 5th Ward. Each year, the most difficult time for me was graduation. The pride of watching my students, most African American, achieve a well-earned success was mixed with the sadness of losing incredible people as they moved on. Also mixed in was the humbling understanding of the incredible disparity between their experience and my own, as a white man. My suburban high school graduation had been an expectation, while these students had to fight to get to that stage against incredible adversity and a society not built for them as racial minorities.

The fact it took me until my mid 20s to begin understanding the privilege of my upbringing and the adversity of the African American experience is something I look back at with a mixture of shame and embarrassment. This sentiment stayed with me as I shifted from one societal institution fraught with racial disparities, education, into another with similar issues in medicine. While I will never truly understand the daily struggle of African Americans battling our engrained systems of oppression, I hope with these words, I am able to be an ally in solidarity.

The murder of George Floyd at the knee of a white police officer has once again reminded us of the inequities on which our country is built. The subsequent protests are fighting not only police brutality, but systemic oppression in all our society’s institutions. Whether historically during the Tuskegee Syphilis experiment or today through the numerous health care disparities (the most recent example during the COVID pandemic) between White and Black Americans, medicine has proven it is one of those sectors.