centered image

Medicine Vs. Racism: White Coats For Black Lives

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Jun 4, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

Six years ago, Michael Brown was murdered in Ferguson, MO, igniting the White Coats For Black Lives movement. I was a medical student at the time. As we prepared for a die-in in protest of Michael Brown’s death and the officer’s acquittal, my medical school class erupted into debate. Some felt strongly that we should not wear our white coats during our protest.

The white coat holds immense symbolism for the medical community. It joins us to a community of dedicated medical professionals. It is our profession’s uniform. For many in my medical school class, regardless of their personal beliefs, protesting was not the issue. When we donned our white coats, however, we were breaking what many considered a sacred separation between our profession and our “political” beliefs.

Many believe that doctors and medical students should not protest nor hold controversial positions while wearing their white coat — because in doing so, they falsely represent an opinion that all of medicine may not have. In this vein, when someone in a white coat speaks, he or she is speaking for all the white coats. Should we, as a profession, aspire towards crafting a public identity that is ideologically sterile?

I agree that a uniform — whether it be the short coat of medical student or a doctor’s long coat — holds a certain power, a certain responsibility, a certain identity. But that uniform should not be the reason why one steps away from a conversation. It should be why someone joins it. A uniform creates a community and it creates an identity, but it does not silence the voice of the individual who dons the uniform.