centered image

#MeToo: Tactics For Fighting Harassment

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Mar 7, 2018.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

[​IMG]

When I was two years old, I ran naked through my living room. Mom reached out and playfully swatted my rump. I skidded to a stop, planted my fists on my little hips, and faced off. “Don’t touch that! It’s mine!” Everyone who knows me and hears the story just laughs and says my sassy started early.

Now, I read story after story of inappropriate comments made to women, and I see the same comment time after time: “I was so shocked, I didn’t say anything.” We are taught that standing up for ourselves is not lady-like and not to state our boundaries, as I did in my living room.

I have served 20 years in the Air Force, and I am an emergency physician. My undergraduate college was 85 percent male. My current career field is only 1/4 women. I can’t imagine I’ve avoided every misogynist and harasser during that time. Despite those odds, I can say that in 39 years, I don’t have a story to contribute to #MeToo.

My strong position has lead to many labels: bitch, ballbuster, but never have I been called victim.

One lesson in command training is this: what you allow, you encourage. Every time someone makes an inappropriate comment, and you don’t call him on it, you give tacit permission for him to do it again. If you get flustered, blush, run away, you have just reinforced the behavior because he got what he wanted: to demean and belittle you.

So many women say, “I didn’t know what to say!” when faced with sexist, racist, hurtful comments. I never a have problem finding my voice, and I would like to offer some of my spirit to those when they have trouble finding their courage.

Introducing yourself