centered image

Mindfulness Is Not The Answer For Burnout

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Hadeel Abdelkariem, Jun 9, 2018.

1. Hadeel Abdelkariem

Hadeel Abdelkariem Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

When I was an intern on the cardiology service, I rarely left before 10 p.m. Call days were longer. One day in the workroom, I noticed my co-intern sniffling as she typed progress notes. Her eyes were red. “Are you OK?” I asked.

She said, “I just cried in the bathroom for about ten minutes. It’s nothing bad; it’s just … I’m so tired. Do you ever feel so tired you just break down? I feel better now, don’t worry.”

All of us have a vague sense of what someone who is “burned out” looks like. Burnout manifests in many different ways: insomnia and nightmares about providing inadequate care, anger at a patient for not getting better, arguing over small details with other staff and, sometimes, crying out of sheer exhaustion in the bathroom. But there is a frustrating lack of specificity in defining burnout, despite widespread recognition that burnout contributes to higher rates of physician attrition, mental health issues and even suicide.

What is burnout? Is it a medical condition? It has an ICD-10 code: Z73.0. A social phenomenon? In 1974, Freudenberger described “burn-out” as more likely in people with certain attributes (“the dedicated and the committed”) in certain work environments. A personal failing? It has been written that burnout is merely a “ status symbol” of industrialized societies, the neurasthenia of the 21st century. Some complain that it is an invention of over-sensitive millennials who don’t understand what hard work is.