centered image

More Physicians Have Tattoos, And How That Makes Them More Genuine At The Bedside

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Dec 11, 2020.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

Throughout my time in medical school, residency, and now as a practicing physician, I have noticed physicians’ changing face. When applying for medical school, I remember choosing a medium-grey pantsuit to match my medium-brown hair to wear for my interview, paired with a simple necklace and conservative makeup. Nothing too flashy, as even choosing grey instead of black and a pantsuit instead of a skirt would stand out and be somewhat “daring.” Throughout medical school, I remained focused on a conservatively “professional” appearance in all ways, and my ERAS photo for residency application again only took calculated daring risks: a navy jacket and burnt orange blouse. When I began my residency in internal medicine, I remained focused on being professional, both in behavior and practice as well as in physical appearance. The definition I used for “professional appearance” is now quite antiquated.