centered image

centered image

MRCP Part 2 Advice

Discussion in 'PLAB' started by Egyptian Doctor, Jun 7, 2021.

1. Egyptian Doctor

Egyptian Doctor Moderator Verified Doctor

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

I passed MRCP PART 2 in first attempt with a decent score of 616.

I cleared part 1 (758) last year January 2019. I was supposed to give the part 2 in March 2020 and I was very concerned about the gap between two exams, which got further extended due to covid.

I Studied pastest over 1.5 months for part 1 which I found to be very useful for the exam.

For part 2 also, despite friends around doing passmedicine, I took subscription only for Pastest due to good experience in previous exam and also because I did not have time to do two resources.

I studied Pastest once before March exam, but it got cancelled last minute.

Now for the October diet, I refreshed the Pastest Q bank and did it all over again in a month and half. I found it easier to do it this time as it was a sort of revision.

4 days prior to exam.. I somehow decided to go through PDF of passmedicine and did 3 systems over 2 days. I found a lot of new topics/questions and was so worried that I won’t be able to do passmed. And I should have listened to my friends. But no one should ever open a new resource 4 days before exam. DONT DO IT

However, last 2 days before exam..I just revised the Pastest and went for exam

In the exam, I realized it was a very difficult exam, a lot of new questions I had never seen before and I couldn’t even guess the answers for so many questions. I was numb after the exam, totally baffled with what I had just seen !

Some questions looked similar to Pastest but they were not repeats, they were similar concepts.

I had absolutely no hopes of passing but thank god, those 1000+ refresh attempts on website ultimately loaded a positive PASS result.

My advice to those who are preparing -