centered image

centered image

My 5 Residency Money Goals

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Nov 7, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

As resident physicians, many of us are overworked, underpaid, and trying our best to make it through. While this time has its ups and downs, we can’t lose sight of the bigger picture. One of the best things we can do during residency is laying the foundation for the life and career we desire. This means doing a few things during our time in training to set ourselves up well financially. Here are 5 of the money goals I set when I started residency:

1. Figure out what’s going on with my student loans. When I graduated from medical school, I had a substantial amount of student loan debt. I remember being called into the financial counselor’s office and being told that I had over $200,000 in student loans. I don’t know about you, but I had never seen or made that much money in my life. I knew I needed a plan. I began to read about the different repayment options and tried to pick one that would give me the lowest monthly payments in residency, provide some government subsidies, and still qualify for loan forgiveness once I finished my training. I didn’t want to be stressed about student loans in residency, so I signed up for an income-driven repayment plan and had my residency coordinator sign the form needed for me to enroll in Public Service Loan Forgiveness.

[​IMG]