centered image

Naps For Medical Residents May Be Too Risky

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Hadeel Abdelkariem, Dec 23, 2018.

1. Hadeel Abdelkariem

Hadeel Abdelkariem Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

It was 3 o'clock in the morning, and Mrs. Williams needed a CAT scan. I rolled her stretcher into the radiology department, where a burly technician and I tried to put her onto a table. But there was a problem: Her intravenous tubing wasn't long enough. The technician asked me if we could stop the IV drip she was receiving. "Sure," I replied automatically. I was mind-crushingly tired. As a new medical intern, I'd been working for 21 hours straight, with hardly time even for a toilet break. I wasn't really thinking about what was going on.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Midway through the scan, Mrs. Williams started moaning that she was having chest pain. When the scan was finished, I quickly reconnected the IV line and turned the machine back on, but all I got were beeps and flashing red lights. Then it hit me square in the gut: I had stopped Mrs. Williams' nitroglycerin, used to treat angina. She was having a heart attack.

Across the nation at noon today, fourth-year medical students will receive a piece of paper telling them where they will be spending the next 3 to 7 years of their lives training to become doctors. During this period, called residency, they will work 80 hours per week and stay up every fourth night or so on call — all while managing complicated patients like Mrs. Williams with little supervision.