centered image

centered image

National Physician Suicide Awareness Day: Break The Silence

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Sep 10, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

“I don’t know if I can keep doing this”

“I can’t see a way out.”

“I feel stuck – trapped.”

What is it like? That feeling of being exhausted, stuck, not feeling like there is a way out. I think of it as running a marathon where you can’t stop. You are tired, it’s 90 degrees and humid, and you are miserably hot. You keep pushing towards the finish line so you can rest and celebrate. But the line keeps moving, and you must keep going: You can’t stop. The is no off-ramp.

I don’t know this feeling myself, but many people have been there, and some have taken permanent ways off their course.

Personal experience

My first experience with suicide was in the summer after I graduated from high school. My long-time boyfriend died by suicide while I was away at my college orientation. This was before cell phones. No one could reach me, so I returned home with my two high school friends dropping me off at home, where my parents were waiting to tell me the news.

His death by suicide was not expected. He chose to end his life after what I could only imagine he felt was a life-altering event. I was not there to help, to know, to talk with him. On a night out with friends while I was away, he got an underage DUI. What was he thinking when he decided to end his life? That he screwed up. That he could not pursue a career path in law enforcement now. That his girlfriend would leave him for making this mistake. That there was no way out. That he was trapped. That he couldn’t imagine a future.