centered image

New York City Provides Residency Training Like No Other

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, May 29, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

As a fourth-year anesthesiology resident, I opened up my email eagerly, awaiting the results of the pain fellowship match. It was official; I was heading to a major academic program in New York City. First came excitement and relief immediately followed by a rush of all-encompassing fear. I had grown up in Arizona my entire life, and the idea of living and training in New York City was daunting, to say the least. Would I be able to thrive in a city of nine million hardnosed people? Would I figure out how the subways work? Am I going to be able to pay for this shoebox-sized apartment in Manhattan? For the time being, it didn’t matter. I decided to celebrate that night and worry about the move to New York City in a few months.