centered image

Our Patients Matter, But At What Cost To Our Families?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Aug 1, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

Is it possible to have it all? Can you have a job that you love, helping people and using your brain and hands all at the same time; plus, a family, with a spouse and children, that you are always there for? Is it possible to have a balance between your work and your family live while working as a medical practitioner?

I would argue, it depends. About 15 years ago, I was a paramedic, bringing patients to the local emergency room. It was there that I met physician assistants and later decided to change my career. I also started to get to know my ER medical director, who told me that she chose medicine over family. She felt that she had to make a choice between the two and couldn’t be a good ER physician and a good mother. That is partly why I chose the route of PA vs. MD. I figured PAs were more likely to have a good family-life balance. I knew someday I would meet my wife and settle down. I wanted children … eventually.

Today, I am a family man. I have a beautiful wife and three amazing kids. I recently switched from critical care to family medicine for a more family-friendly work-life balance. My wife is a dermatology PA and works Monday through Thursday. Banking hours. The last ten years or so have been quite a challenge since I was working nights, and my wife was working days. There were times that I didn’t see my family for 4 to 5 days in a row. As our family grew over the years, so did the strain that the shift work had on our family.