centered image

Pediatric Emergency Care During A Time Of Strict Social Isolation

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Jun 19, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG] 4

I am a pediatric trained emergency physician working in a level 1 trauma center. Our region is not an epicenter for COVID-19. Like many pediatric departments, our volumes are returning but were less than half of normal for months. Social distancing has not only flattened the curve for COVID-19, but it has also made our usual summer viruses all but disappear. Where are all the enteroviruses?

In pre-COVID times, after a good history and physical exam on a well-appearing, febrile child, I could confidently say, “It’s a virus.” I could also confidently say the same on a listless child who perked up after antipyretics and oral fluids. Most of the time, I was right, as the odds were on my side. In my personal experience over the last few months, my confidence in this statement, “it’s just a virus,” has waned. I believe that this is because the odds have changed. I have no data to back up this opinion, although I have colleagues who share it.

First, I am finding it more difficult to reassure parents that their child has a virus when they have been careful to socially isolate. Obviously, there are still grocery carts and handrails, so the incidence of viral infections is not zero. Many families, however, have been good about staying home and limiting contact. Curiously, I find myself siding with the parents and saying, “I share your concerns. Where is the fever coming from? Could we be missing something else?” I recognize that I am in a higher alert state. We all are.