centered image

Physician Gives in to Police Pressure to Conduct a Forced Invasive Rectal Exam

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Hadeel Abdelkariem, Jan 7, 2019.

1. Hadeel Abdelkariem

Hadeel Abdelkariem Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

Recently, news broke about a disturbing act of medical battery carried out by doctors at St. Joe’s Medical Center in Syracuse, New York. The case began when police officers conducted a pretext stop and elected to harass their victim about a small amount of marijuana.

As the situation escalated, the cops took the man to St. Joe’s Medical Center for him to be searched for more drugs. After initial resistance, the cops obtained a search warrant demanding that doctors conduct a sigmoidoscopy to search the victim’s rectum for cocaine. Spoiler alert: They didn’t find anything.

I’m not a legal expert and I won’t speak to the legal status of what happened. But as a physician, I’m appalled that a physician would assault their patient simply because a court gave some rogue cops a warrant.

While police are accustomed to committing acts of assault against unarmed minorities, as physicians, we should hold ourselves to a higher ethical standard.

Informed consent is central to our ethical code. We are not agents of the police, nor agents of the courts. We act to heal the sick, not violate unconsenting prisoners.

I would never conduct a medical procedure on a patient against their will because my personal and professional integrity means something to me. The physician who completed the procedure, however, saw things differently. In his note, he writes, “It’s a valid warrant, and we are obligated to help the police under any means to retrieve the object.”

Obligated? In what way?

The hospital could fire you, I guess. But do you want to work for a hospital that requires its employees to commit medical battery on behalf of brutal and corrupt police?