centered image

Physicians Can’t Ignore Health Risks Posed By Guns

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Hadeel Abdelkariem, Jun 1, 2018.

1. Hadeel Abdelkariem

Hadeel Abdelkariem Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

I’m a family doctor in upstate New York. My patients include active NRA members and ardent pacifists. Most probably fall somewhere in the middle — they own guns for hunting or encourage neighbors to hunt the deer that feed on their lush gardens.

[​IMG]

As a mother, I tried not to let my boys play with toy guns when they were little. In a young boy’s imagination, though, everything became a gun — a stick, a newspaper, a finger. But I’m not entirely anti-gun. We’re some of the 40 percent of Americans who have a gun in our home. I’ve shot skeet (poorly) and aimed hunting rifles at targets. It’s loud and jolting and not really my idea of fun. I’d rather dangle my feet in a stream and watch frogs.

Sometimes my neighbors hunt with old-fashioned muzzleloaders and compound bows. They track their prey and bring it home for dinner. They don’t hunt with handguns.

Because I’m a doctor, though, I can’t ignore health risks posed by guns. Gun violence isn’t just about mass shootings. Suicides and unintentional injuries are in the top 10 causes of death in America. Approximately half of suicides involve guns yet there has been minimal research on gun violence since the NRA successfully lobbied Congress to prevent it over 20 years ago.

Gun violence isn’t a problem of the mentally ill. America doesn’t boast more mental illness than other countries. What it does have is a lot more guns.