centered image

centered image

Pink Ribbons And Murder Boobs

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Oct 5, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

I woke up this morning to a flood of ballerina pink emails for Breast Cancer Awareness Month. The irony was not lost on me as I rolled over in bed, protecting my body from the healing scars of where my breasts used to be. “I don’t even like pink,” I muttered to myself, while swallowing feelings of guilt. I shifted my mind to focus on gratitude … for awareness of breast cancer, encouragement of women to get screening mammograms, and fundraising for research. And yet, as a 41-year-old physician, I am often struck by how little I knew about breast cancer until my own boob tried to murder me.

Sure, I understood the importance of screening mammograms and breast self-exams. But I also knew that I, a Peloton-addicted vegetarian who had breastfed three children, must be immune from breast cancer. In medicine, we often think in terms of risk and family history, and there just weren’t boxes to check that would have prepared me for what was to come.

[​IMG]

First, there was the unexplained nipple discharge a few days after I turned 41. I tried not to panic, but I also knew I needed answers quickly. Four days later, at my first mammogram, I was haunted by the cold machine that took images for hours. I still shiver thinking about how vulnerable and frightened I felt. My radiology report included a new term to me: “BI-RADS 5,” which a few Google searches revealed meant “definitely cancer.”

When I was diagnosed with breast cancer, it felt as though everything I knew was turned on its head. My perceived perception of perfect health vanished in an instant. After my biopsy, I stuffed an ice pack in my bra and went back to work, seeing patients. Maybe if I continued as if everything were the same, it would be? But alas, the cancer was all too real, and the old healthy me was seemingly gone in an instant.