centered image

Quitting Medicine: A Disgraced Survivor Of A Bloody Suicide Attempt

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Mahmoud Abudeif, Oct 20, 2019.

1. Mahmoud Abudeif

Mahmoud Abudeif Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

Addressed to Dr. Lynes, the note sat menacingly in my inbox like a distress signal ominously blinking on a battered ocean coast.

[​IMG]
    “Mr. Smith wants you to read the note before his preop, the nurse said harmlessly.” A premonition that day, just one more irrational fear in my downward spiral into darkness.

I am a physician, practicing a noble profession of merit. Sepsis, from a visit to Mexico, began a sad journey into futile shame. Six weeks of torture in the ICU, respiratory support with a trach, ARDS, DIC, ICU psychosis, multiple organ system failure, and a 40-pound weight loss, began my prescription of madness culminating five years later. “You look so well, Bill,” said a supportive colleague on my return.” I hid a secret of torment never whispered even to a soul.

I am a healer — a principled practitioner of a virtuous task — a lover of the good and worthy practice of medicine. I am well qualified but beaten down by endless hours of tense conditions; legal pressures flow from an unforgiving system expecting perfection. Constant paperwork piled to the ceiling, life-and-death decisions at every turn, and restrictions limiting my good-work turned a once limitless task into a tortured pastime. I was a burnt-out physician, tired, sad, and broken. A character of sorrow shattered and diminishing in performance.