centered image

Reclaiming The Future Of Health Care

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Mar 13, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

A guest column by the American College of Physicians, exclusive to KevinMD.

Although I work for the American College of Physicians, I’m writing this as a general internist who has practiced both primary care and hospital-based medicine for over 25 years.

Hopefully by now, you are aware of Better is Possible: The American College of Physicians’ Vision for the U.S. Health Care System published in January. As a point of disclosure, I had no direct role in developing this vision statement. However, as a practicing physician, I can’t help but see it as a major step toward the medical profession reclaiming the direction of health care in our country. Let me explain.

When I began my career, medicine was a markedly different world. Physicians occupied a much more central role in how health care was provided. Fee-for-service was the predominant payment model, and insurers, health care organizations, and businesses held far less power and control over how medicine was practiced. However, the rapid expansion of our country’s extraordinarily unusual health care infrastructure in which massive amounts of money flow in a system driven largely by market forces, the stage was set for development of the health care system we have today. And frankly, at that time, I couldn’t have imagined that we would ultimately end up with the health care system we have today.