centered image

Residents Are Not Disposible. They Deserve Better.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Dec 22, 2020.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

I was a fellow physician in neonatology, and my contract was recently not renewed for my three-year fellowship at the end of the first year. My experience highlights the examples that, at times, physicians are treated in a disposable manner. COVID-19 is certainly taking a toll on health care workers. So, too, are oppressive practices and unfair treatment of trainees.

The reasons provided to me for why my contract was not renewed concern mentorship, PPE, and I relayed feeling bullied by a peer. Of note, employment practices were recently investigated by a law firm, citing numerous concerns for retaliation and bullying. At that time, HR stated they are aware and making changes.

A dental student in the College of Dentistry recently “replied all” to an email and was initially threatened with an administrative hearing and possible dismissal. However, involvement with the state legislature helped dismiss charges of “professional misconduct.”

[​IMG]

In June, I walked off the unit to take a call with the hospital ombuds. A nurse manager handed me my face shield during the call. I followed up because I had a mask on and was confused as I did not think I had broken policy. The policy was to have full PPE (mask and shield) in the clinical area. I was just outside the clinical area. I asked if someone had complained. That person said something to her manager, and it was communicated to the program director. This was used to support not renewing my contract to say they had “behavioral concerns.” I was provided no opportunity for due process. I apologized to the person on learning this feedback, and she told me, “I would not say you were argumentative.”