centered image

centered image

Should Doctors Be More Conscious Of Consciousness?

Discussion in 'Neurology' started by Ghada Ali youssef, May 4, 2017.

1. Ghada Ali youssef

Ghada Ali youssef Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

Why does the universe have conscious beings? The physical and biological laws of nature do not seem to explain the existence of conscious creatures such as humans. Neuroscience has done well to explain many of our behaviors, illnesses and medical therapies based on purely physical and observable rules. But no one has ever measured consciousness. And yet it appears fundamental to whether my patient will recover from their disease.

After 15 years as a physician, I have become proficient at the scientific aspects of treating complex medical conditions in the hospital. I study hard, try to keep up-to-date and read my journals. Even so, I cannot account for patients who passively give up versus patients who fight an illness long past the reasonable time of acceptance. I cannot account for the placebo effect. In a nutshell, I cannot account for the consciousness of my patients that transcends their physical existence.

Philosophers and neuroscientists have divided their thinking about consciousness into the easy questions — an organism’s ability to react to environmental stimuli, access its own internal states and control behavior — and the hard problem: explaining experience. The “easy” questions are at least in principle answerable through measurement and study. We use these “easy” questions clinically when we prescribe selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors to treat depression, or interpret an EEG to diagnose a seizure. Neuroscience continues to advance these areas daily. But the problem of subjective experience is trickier altogether.