centered image

Should White Coats Be Only Worn by Physicians?

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Riham, May 9, 2016.

1. Riham

Riham Bronze Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

d3d5d4220e4bcab3a472ace8de9797c8.jpg

Maybe it’s just me, and maybe this is a regional/local phenomenon, but I have noticed a sharp increase in the number of non-physicians who sport their white coats on a daily basis around the hospital.

First, let me preface this piece by saying I have absolutely nothing against any person who partakes in the care of patients; in fact, I commend all the helping hands that routinely dedicate themselves to health care. As a physician, I remember distinctly my white coat ceremony, and having to delineate myself from the residents and attending physicians by wearing a short white coat. Though it was a distinction, it was not a shameful one. Graduating medical school and moving forward to a long white coat was and is a privilege, one that I am proud to have earned through years of hard work and dedication.

My physician colleagues have worked diligently and achieved the ability to wear the long white coat, albeit covered in various germs (I will not enter the subject matter of whether anyone should be allowed to wear a white coat given the surge in infections), and I can truly say there is not a single physician I know, whether resident, fellow or attending, who is not proud of their accomplishments. And rightfully so.