centered image

So Doctor, Who’s your boss?

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Egyptian Doctor, Sep 10, 2015.

1. Egyptian Doctor

Egyptian Doctor Moderator Verified Doctor

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

As a relatively young physician, I always enjoy my conversations with the older members of our profession, who’ve seen so much change over the last few decades. I’m fascinated with their stories about how different the medical world was when they were residents, how treatments were so novel, and how they used solid clinical skills to get to the diagnosis.

Those were the days when the family doctor would know their patients inside out, visit them at home, and follow them in the hospital. Those were the days when physicians didn’t have to spend huge chunks of their day navigating inefficient computer systems or dealing with mountains of bureaucracy.

Another theme that emerges is how physicians have ceded so much of their power and control to third parties and health care administrators — who have proliferated vastly in number. I’ve heard stories of how not so long ago, it was the doctors who were the bosses at all levels in health care.

I remember talking to a general surgeon in Florida who recalled to me an incident 25 years ago when he saw a major patient care issue, how he burst into the CEO’s office, slammed the patient’s chart on the table and voiced his disgust with what had happened. The CEO calmed him down and then apologized profoundly for the problem, assuring him that it would be addressed. The surgeon felt like he was the boss, and that hospital administration existed to serve the best interests of doctors and their patients. Needless to say, that wouldn’t happen today.