centered image

Sorry, But I’m Not Part Of The Ancillary Staff. I’m A Physician.

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Egyptian Doctor, May 3, 2015.

1. Egyptian Doctor

Egyptian Doctor Moderator Verified Doctor

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

A few months ago, I was on call as a cardiology fellow, and I had to go up to one of the inpatient floors to do a stat echocardiogram on a patient. Given how hemodynamically unstable he was, I was rushing to the room as fast as I could with this hefty machine that could give important information about cardiac function in seconds. One of my responsibilities at that time was to perform these echocardiograms at a moment’s notice after hours. I finally arrived in the room, out of breath with my heart pounding as I tried to maneuver the machine into the room. As I was entering the room, the nurse outside told one of her colleagues, “Hooray, the echo tech is here!” The funny (or not so funny) thing was that I was wearing my white coat with the M.D. after my last name in big letters. I could have said something, but in the midst of the chaos, I just went about and did my thing. As I left, she asked me how I got there so fast, and I told her that cardiology fellows had to do stat echocardiograms after hours. As I was walking away with the machine, I caught a brief look of surprise on her face as she realized the actual role I had in the hospital.