centered image

Stop Romanticizing The Italian Health Care During The COVID-19 Pandemic

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Apr 9, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

I have been reading about “the Italian health care system, one of the best in the world,” yet unable to keep pace with the novel coronavirus, COVID-19. Let me be honest and unpopular: the Italian health care system is rotten, and the coronavirus pandemic is showing it to the world.

I am an Italian physician based in Los Angeles. I was 25-year-old when, nauseated by a health care system dominated by corruption and ineptitude, I decided to leave. Poor leadership and scarce resources have shaped a health care system that is overstretched and insufficient at best. My American friends and colleagues ask me why the mortality associated with COVID-19 is so high in Italy. While the elderly Italian population is massive and makes for the majority of the deaths, I believe that this praised health care system plays a key role in the outrageous mortality rate.