centered image

centered image

Systemic Anatomy

Discussion in 'Anatomy' started by Timeless, May 6, 2016.

1. Timeless

Timeless Young Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Portugal

Hello!! I've got a situation...

I'm a first year medical student, and in my faculty (Faculdade de Medicina de Lisboa) anatomy is taught by systems, instead of regions.
    Our evaluation (oral and written) also follows this method, as we're sometimes asked to list all the arteries or veins in the head, for example.

This means that most anatomy textbooks are a pain to study from because they explore anatomy in the regional fashion.

That's why I'm here, asking if you know any good textbook that explains anatomy by systems. Keep in mind that the teachers here are very thorough (our recommended textbook is the Anatomie Humaine by Rouvière, and I don't get a single verb in french). I was thinking of Gray's Anatomy, but it explains regional anatomy... I heard of the 38th edition (when it was still written by systems), but it doesn't follow the 1998 Terminologia Anatomica (which my teacher LOVES).

This anatomy class does not cover clinical anatomy (it is just in the next semester), so that is not a must...

Given all of this boring info, could you help me find a textbook which suits my needs?
    Thank you very much!!!

Add Reply
    Last edited: May 6, 2016

2. sevasti

sevasti Young Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Greece
    take a look to grace anatomy atlas !!

3. Rossul

Rossul Young Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Iraq
    Try Snell's clinical anatomy by systems

4. Dr. Valchanov

Dr. Valchanov Well-Known Member Verified Doctor

Practicing medicine in:
    Bulgaria
    Hello