centered image

The Actor Will See You Now: The Evolving Role Of A Physician In A Pandemic

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Oct 7, 2020.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

It wasn’t very long into medical school when I realized that the role of a physician feels just like that—a role. As a former high school thespian, I recall my Step 2 CS exam feeling a lot like a series of auditions—convincing twelve standardized patients that I was a competent physician with an abundance of clinical knowledge and the ability to remain cool under pressure during the notorious “curveball” questions that are a signature of the exam. Being professional is something that consistently defines the profession and is a standard that any future physician must subscribe to. As a black female in medicine, I knew situations like these would arise, such as the time I was called the N-word by a patient while assisting in reducing a humeral fracture as a fourth-year medical student. However, I was still confident that both my training and lived experiences would set the stage to play my role as a caring, competent physician. But then COVID-19 happened. And with racial tensions as well as mistrust in the U.S. health care system at an all-time high, it is evident that in these unprecedented times, we must continue to be professional, while safely acknowledging the simple fact that we are approaching a new era in medicine. An era that celebrates our humanity and truly encourages diversity of patients and health care providers. But how do we do this? We have to stop being actors.

[​IMG]