centered image

The Attack In Buffalo, Minnesota: A Primary Care Physician’s Perspective

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Feb 10, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

You might be next.

I began my career as a family physician in Buffalo, MN in 2002. I have been an extremely productive doctor for 20 years. For context, I can assure the reader that my ratings and reviews are excellent, and I speak to the common primary care experience. I was a very green attending when I showed up in Buffalo for my first attending job. I experienced universally superb physicians with excellent mentorship and caring staff who went the extra mile for patients. I also now work at a different organization. It is full of fair-minded leaders who participate in whole-person care and emphasize quality. It is not a malignant organization in any form. So why are people being gunned down in clinic lobbies? I can tell you what got us to this point.

[​IMG]

1. Let’s talk about controlled substances. They are bad. We get it. Full agreement. Road to nowhere. Get everybody off. Great idea. But now what? Is there a plan? Chemical dependency programs are prohibitively expensive. The people who need them don’t have the insurance or money to cover them. Consequently, primary care physicians are left on the front lines alone to wean people off medications that they have been on for years which we often did not prescribe in the first place. And we offer what instead? NSAIDs? Acupuncture? We don’t provide any great cost-effective alternatives. Integrative medicine is a powerful and awesome completely non covered option. So, unless you are exceptional at communication and have a really reasonable patient base, there are endless stressful encounters happening in offices. We now have a lot of angry people in pain and nothing good to offer them. I can see that not ending well.