centered image

centered image

The Coronavirus Pandemic Is Truly Like A War

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Mar 30, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

Maybe this sounds dramatic, but the coronavirus is like a war. The soldiers are health care workers. The enemy is the virus. The battlefield is the hospitals. We are finding out that life can turn on a dime.

I found that out 30 years ago in August 1990. Iraq invaded Kuwait. I knew as soon as they started deploying troops to Saudi Arabia that I would be going. By the end of August, I was in Saudi. I was a flight nurse in an aeromedical evacuation unit in the Air National Guard. I spent the next six months there.

This reminds me so much of that. The sudden change in life circumstances. The waiting. That’s probably the biggest reminder. The daily pins and needles wondering if this was the day the war was going to start.

Then it started, the feeling of complete powerlessness and helplessness. The dire warnings about casualty counts. In this case, critical patients. The eyes of the people we evacuated. How young they all were. This time they are vulnerable adults.

The chemical warfare gear. Carrying the mask around all the time attached to your body. Wishing you had paid more attention to training. This time the gear is PPE.

The tremendous responsibility felt for the enlisted (techs, nursing assistants, med students), who would be looking to you for leadership. The worry about how young some of them were.