centered image

centered image

The Covid-19 Pandemic Will Make Medical Students Better Doctors

Discussion in 'Medical Students Cafe' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, May 24, 2020.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

Medical staff tend to a Covid-19 patient in the Stamford Hospital intensive care unit in Stamford, Conn.

[​IMG]

When I graduated from medical school more years ago than I care to remember, my training as an intern and a resident followed an unrushed, traditional path. Medical students at the time were introduced to patients gradually, and we took our time engaging with the trying challenges that make up the bulk of a physician’s career.

This year, students graduating from the medical school where I am dean and from other schools are facing a very different time line: Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, many of them have been called upon to volunteer or work in hospitals before their time in medical school was over.

That’s not unprecedented. In 1918, some medical students were graduated early to help fight the raging Spanish flu. In 1952, medical students in Denmark helped provide polio patients with round-the-clock manual ventilation. In the 1980s, doctors in training were thrust into the burgeoning AIDS epidemic.

But none of these match the global shutdown we’re experiencing now, and the young men and women officially donning their white coats as new doctors will soon realize that the world they’re entering is one profoundly altered by the pandemic.

They will be changed by it, as will medicine.