centered image

The Deadly Racial Disparity Of COVID-19

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Apr 14, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

There is an old adage within the black community that says, “When White America catches a cold, Black America has pneumonia.” African American patients with COVID-19 are dying at a significantly higher rate compared to other races. These statistics are currently reported within the state of Louisiana and cities of Chicago and Milwaukee. At the time I am writing this, on April 8, 2020, there are only nine states publicizing the racial and ethnic demographic data of patients diagnosed with COVID-19. As an African American, these results are frightening, and as a physician, I am absolutely baffled. In the year 2020, the issues surrounding health care inequalities have been placed back on a pedestal as a result of this pandemic. An indiscriminate virus has resulted in the evident discrimination of mortality. This disturbingly disproportionate mortality rate demands an important discussion that needs to be had on the topic of social determinants of health and its effects on race. It is imperative to be proactive with these harrowing statistics in order to solve this problem now while it is active.