centered image

The Guilt Of A Retired Nurse

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Apr 12, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

I am 64 years old. I was a nurse for 34 years, retiring a year, and three months ago, I worked on the medical-surgical floor, ICU, and the last 30 years, in the emergency room. I retired because I’d had enough.

This year has changed me. My life no longer revolves around my ER job. I am not exhausted from 12-hour shifts, taking at least a day to recover. I no longer dread going to work, that dread starting a day ahead of time.

I am not tense all the time. I no longer sit on the edge of my seat, ready to jump up when something bad happens. I like people again. I no longer hate the public. I no longer think about 75% of people are idiots.

I still have the ability to size people up in 10-15 seconds. I learned to read body language very easily. I can still turn on “calm mode” in times of extreme stress. Even though I am anxious as shit, I learned to turn it off when necessary. I am doing that now to some extent with the pandemic.

The hardest part about being retired right now is worrying about and thinking about my former co-workers. Every day I worry. Fortunately, we live in a state with only (!) about a thousand cases right now. People seem to be staying at home. Hopefully, that continues.

In fact, my old hospital ER hasn’t been busy. It is in the middle of a poor neighborhood. I’m sure people are scared to come to the hospital right now. Those symptoms that drove them to the hospital for nonemergent things have now become manageable at home.

So there they are waiting and wearing protective gear all day. I’m glad they have it. The hospital fears running out, as well they should. They are taking LOAs because the census is low, probably voluntary and involuntary.