centered image

The Individuals Who Inspire This Resident Physician In COVID-19 Era

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Apr 18, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

As a resident physician keen on academia and research, I have many doctors and scientists who I aspire to be more like. As a future-driven person, I am constantly awed by various inspirational, well-educated, and even better-poised men and women who have changed our society and the world. But today’s situation is different. Today’s situation makes my inspirations quite different from that of a typical young physician.

As a resident doctor, I have front-row seats to the environment in our California hospitals during this trying time. The smell of fear laces the air at our institution—fear of the spread of this novel COVID-19, fear of the surge of patients we are all anticipating, fear we all share for our families and children at home. In Northern California—at least for today, the middle of April—we wait with bated breath for the waves of ventilator-dependent patients we fear are days away. We wait for the limited-protection environment that many of our colleagues are currently enduring. We still have ample PPE in our hospital, per the correspondence from hospital administration—and I feel lucky. Certainly luckier than those who need it the most currently.