centered image

The Intricacies Of Working As A Doctor With A Spinal Cord Injury

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Jun 11, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

I work as a resident in Australia’s busiest emergency department. Well, it was the busiest at a recent count anyway. The department is housed in the city of Gold Coast. The city sprawls across a beautiful stretch of beach. When I wake up, I turn my head to see the sun hanging out over the Pacific ocean. I can’t think of a better way to start my days.

Whether it’s on the backdrop of a sun-kissed city or snowstorm in Boston, though, I sometimes think about the shared experiences that connect doctors across the world. No one will understand the depths of our stories the way we can for each other. Even still, my days have some different twists.

On a summer day in 2020, I was on my way to work. It was the middle of a run of evening shifts. After waking up, I took about two and a half hours to get ready. There were a few things happening at home that day too. It was an unsettled environment. I got out the door and into the car, which again took around ten minutes that day. My carpark is too tight for me to get into the car, so we moved it forward a little. An impatient neighbor driving through the car park beeped his horn at this affront, then stared at me.